Gut Registry

entity · release 2026-09-20

Streptococcus salivarius K12

Structured fields rendered from the release dataset. Unknown values retain a reason; price is outside GIS.

Across the corpus

How this organism is actually sold

Printed CFU per serving
575,000,000 – 2,000,000,000; median 1,000,000,000. Measured on the 5 of 7 published products carrying it whose latest published label prints a figure for it; the rest print a blend total or no quantity, and earlier label versions in the table below may print other figures. 0 row(s) print a CFU below 1 000 and are excluded as a label or parsing artefact.
Forms
Lozenge: 4 · Tablet or Pill: 3 · counted across the 7 of 7 published products whose label states a form
Brands carrying it
childlife-essentials (1) · naturesplus (1) · naturesplus-animal-parade (1) · now (1) · renew-life (1) · the five largest of 7 brands with a published product
Published product pages
7

Products

Published products carrying this organism

ProductPrinted CFUPrinted doseCost per dayFormGut Index Score
NOW OralBiotic1,000,000,000not printednot observedLozenge88.53
Life Extension Advanced Oral Hygiene575,000,000not printednot observedLozenge88.53
Protocol For Life Balance E.N.T. Biotic1,000,000,000not printednot observedLozenge88.53
NaturesPlus Adult's Ear, Nose & Throat Lozenges Tropical Cherry-Berry2,000,000,000not printednot observedLozenge84.25
NaturesPlus Animal Parade Inner Ear Cherry Flavor1,000,000,000not printednot observedTablet or Pill77.50
Renew Life Kids Probiotic Ear, Nose & Throat Orange Burst Flavornot printednot printednot observedTablet or Pill73.00
ChildLife Essentials LiveBiotics Oral Care Natural Strawberry Flavornot printednot printednot observedTablet or Pill45.28
Containing labels15
Evidence amount1.00
Direction balanceThe direction of the study results has not been extracted.

Matched PubMed records

17 records (retracted records excluded; 0 retracted records match the query separately). PubMed query

Matched records include trials of multi-ingredient products; this is not a count of trials of this entity alone.

  1. 2026 · Preventing otitis media and respiratory tract infections with the oral probiotic Streptococcus salivarius K12.
  2. 2026 · Tongue brushing and oral probiotics for the treatment of halitosis: a randomized controlled trial.
  3. 2025 · Effect of probiotic lozenges on improvement in tympanometric classification within 12 weeks in children aged 3-6 years with adenoid hypertrophy and otitis media with effusion undergoing non-surgical management: a randomized controlled trial.
  4. 2025 · Oral Probiotic Containing Streptococcus salivarius K12 and Lactobacillus brevis CD2 for Preventing Bacterial Pneumonia in Severe COVID-19: Randomized Clinical Trial.
  5. 2024 · Streptococcus salivarius K12 Alleviates Oral Mucositis in Patients Undergoing Radiotherapy for Malignant Head and Neck Tumors: A Randomized Controlled Trial.
  6. 2023 · Streptococcus salivarius Probiotics to Prevent Acute Otitis Media in Children: A Randomized Clinical Trial.
  7. 2023 · Use of Streptococcus salivarius K12 in supporting the mucosal immune function of active young subjects: A randomised double-blind study.
  8. 2022 · The Effect of Oral Probiotics (Streptococcus Salivarius k12) on the Salivary Level of Secretory Immunoglobulin A, Salivation Rate, and Oral Biofilm: A Pilot Randomized Clinical Trial.
  9. 2021 · Multi-Strain Probiotic Supplementation with a Product Containing Human-Native S. salivarius K12 in Healthy Adults Increases Oral S. salivarius.
  10. 2021 · Human Systemic Immune Response to Ingestion of the Oral Probiotic Streptococcus salivarius BLIS K12.

and 7 more

ClinicalTrials.gov

16 interventional studies. ClinicalTrials.gov query

This species has 6 tracked designations; this one appears on 15 labels (median 4.5).

Other printed names

Species and related strains

Streptococcus salivarius

Axis 1 · inverted

Containing label versions

Showing 15 of 15 rows, ordered by Gut Index Score descending, then DSLD label ID. Download full CSV · Download full JSON.

BrandProductDSLDGut Index ScoreStrain namedPer-organism quantityPotency basisVersions
NatureCityTrueOC Quick Melt Orange Flavor32094595.28true1,000,000,000 CFUthrough expiry1
Life ExtensionAdvanced Oral Hygiene5963588.53true575,000,000 CFUat manufacture1
Protocol For Life BalanceE.N.T. Biotic7318088.53true1,000,000,000 CFUat manufacture1
NOWOralBiotic24561188.53true1,000,000,000 CFUat manufacture2
NOWOralBiotic31389188.53true1,000,000,000 CFUat manufacture2
NaturesPlusAdult's Ear, Nose & Throat Lozenges Tropical Cherry-Berry29865384.25true2,000,000,000 CFUthrough expiry1
NaturesPlus Animal ParadeInner Ear Cherry Flavor31915477.50true1,000,000,000 CFUat manufacture1
Renew LifeKids Probiotic Ear, Nose & Throat Orange Burst Flavor20350773.00truenot printed for this organismthrough expiry1
SolarayMycrobiome Probiotic Mouth & Throat25542466.25truenot printed for this organismat manufacture2
ChildLife EssentialsLiveBiotics Oral Care Natural Strawberry Flavor29925545.28truenot printed for this organismnot stated1
SimplyBiotixOral & Sinus Cinnamon Stick Flavor201971Not available in this release.trueundefined: light snapshotnot stated1
AOR Advanced Orthomolecular Research AdvancedBreath Biotics Wintermint Flavour with Blis K12214440Not available in this release.trueundefined: light snapshotnot stated1
Nature's TroveOral Probiotic 20 mg Cherry Flavor229460Not available in this release.trueundefined: light snapshotnot stated1
Life Extension FlorassistThroat Health232097Not available in this release.trueundefined: light snapshotnot stated1
SwansonOral Probiotic Formula Natural Strawberry Flavor322740Not available in this release.trueundefined: light snapshotnot stated1

Axis 2

Studiedness

Evidence amount
1.00
Direction balance
The direction of the study results has not been extracted.
PMID records loaded
17
Records after title/year deduplication
17

Axis 3

Measurement integrity

Not a measurement product, so this axis does not apply.

Axis 4

Reddit mention panel

0 observed mentions; no aggregate panel matched this entity.

Elsewhere in this release

Related pages

Findings computed over the whole corpus: Strain naming census · Label designation changes · Strain dose match · Stability literature gaps

Tools: DSLD product check · Unit value calculator

Citation

Cite this page

Ivitskiy, I. (2026). Streptococcus salivarius K12. Gut Registry, release 2026-09-20. Elanvale Ltd. https://gutregistry.com/s/streptococcus-salivarius-k12/

The underlying tables are published under CC BY 4.0: this page as CSV · as JSON · full release and data dictionary. Cell-level provenance names the source record and its observation date.

Citable atoms

Release claims

  1. Streptococcus salivarius K12 appears on 15 of 13,330 labels in the NIH DSLD snapshot (Sep 2026), from 14 brands; tied with 6 designations by distinct label count.

    15 / 13330 observed label versions · NIH DSLD snapshot Sep 2026 · entity.prevalence · checked 2026-09-20T00:00:00Z · snapshot b7633f732437
  2. 7 of 15 containing labels in the NIH DSLD snapshot (Sep 2026) print a quantity for Streptococcus salivarius K12 (46.7%); 5 light records have quantities unavailable.

    7 / 15 containing labels · NIH DSLD snapshot Sep 2026 · entity.quantity · checked 2026-09-20T00:00:00Z · snapshot b7633f732437
  3. 17 PubMed records indexed as human randomized controlled trials match the published query (as of 2026-09-15). 17 records (retracted records excluded; 0 retracted records match the query separately).

    Published PubMed query

    17 / 17 loaded PMID records · NIH DSLD snapshot Sep 2026 · entity.evidence · checked 2026-09-20T00:00:00Z · snapshot b7633f732437
  4. 16 interventional studies on ClinicalTrials.gov match the published query.

    Published ClinicalTrials.gov query

    16 / Not available in this release. interventional registry studies · NIH DSLD snapshot Sep 2026 · entity.registered_trials · checked 2026-09-20T00:00:00Z · snapshot b7633f732437
  5. 0 of 14 SKUs containing Streptococcus salivarius K12 have a numeric price observation (0.0%) in the release accompanying the NIH DSLD snapshot Sep 2026.

    0 / 14 containing SKUs · NIH DSLD snapshot Sep 2026 · entity.price · checked 2026-09-20T00:00:00Z · snapshot b7633f732437

Back to the release hub